top of page

The IT Girl

By Ruth Ware

An Inventive and Intriguing Who DonE It Novel



The modest Hannah Jones and the flirty April Clarke-Cliveden first meet as roommates at Oxford. April had it all. She was intelligent, luminous, and otherworldly. She was also a little intimidating to the hardworking Hannah and their tight circle of friends, Will, Hugh, Ryan, and Emily. By the end of the second term, April is dead. A porter at the college, John Neville, who had been stalking Hannah, was convicted of murdering April. Hannah and Hugh had witnessed Neville leaving Hannah and April’s apartment right before they found her collapsed body on the floor.

Ten years after April’s death, Hannah is working in a bookshop. She and Will are expecting their first child. They have both put the tragic past behind them and now live in Edinburgh. The news has just reported that John Neville has died in prison. Days later, a reporter calls Hannah for an interview, and she reluctantly agrees to meet. Following that meeting, Hannah begins questioning what she saw that night and whether or not Neville could have been innocent, as he had claimed all along. But if Neville didn’t kill April, then who did?


THE IT GIRL is a skillfully-crafted novel alternately told from Hannah’s perspective both before and after April’s murder. This “who done it story” is inventive and stocked with intriguing clues that will have your head spinning.

Both Hannah and April’s characters were delightfully well-developed and a study in contrast. Their unique circle of memorable friends added depth and interest to the story.

Author Ruth Ware weaves a tale that grabs you with the potential of an innocent person serving a life sentence in prison and the pregnant Hannah’s arduous attempts to find the true killer ten years later. THE IT GIRL will have you turning pages until late into the night.

Author Ruth Ware lives with her family in Sussex, on the south coast of England. She is the best-selling author of In A Dark Dark Wood (2016), The Woman in Cabin 10 (2016), The Lying Game (2017), The Death of Mrs. Westaway (2018), The Turn of the Key (2019), and One by One (2020).

Thanks to Netgalley and Gallery Books for an advance reading copy of this book. All opinions expressed here are my own.

Publisher Gallery Books

Published July 12, 2022

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page