Once Upon A Wardrobe

By Patti Callahan

An Enchanting and Emotionally-Profound Fairy Tale


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


SUMMARY

Megs Devonshire is a brilliant student at Oxford studying both math and physics. Her beloved younger brother, George, has a failing heart and is not expected to make it to his ninth birthday. When George reads a copy of the new book ‘The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe,’ he is consumed with finding out more about it. He implores Meg to approach the author and find out exactly where Narnia comes from. Megs cannot and will not refuse her brother’s request.


Megs timidly approaches C.S. Lewis with her brother’s questions. What she receives are stories, stories of Jack and Warnie Lewis’s life. She takes these stories home to George and regales him with tales of family, brotherhood, and war. Lewis never directly answers George’s question, but the stories provide a different kind of hope for George, Megs, and their family.


“Once upon a wardrobe, not very long ago and not very far away…”

REVIEW

Once Upon a Wardrobe is a captivating and charming historical fiction novel set in 1950 in Worcestershire, England. It’s a perfect blend of characters, setting, and story. Patti Callahan’s writing is first-rate, and she weaves a brilliant and compelling story that you will want to read more than once. It’s essential reading for fans of Narnia, Lewis, Callahan, or anyone who enjoys an enchanting and emotionally-profound fairy tale. This book will be impossible to forget.


I listened to the audiobook and highly recommend the experience. The narrator was Fiona Hardingham, who did a delightful job voicing Megs and George Devonshire and bringing us into the story. She adds depth to the story and transports us back in time and across the pond to Oxford. Listeners will enjoy the memorable experience. The audiobook is a winner of the AudioFile Earphone Award.

Patti Callahan Is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of 16 novels, including Surviving Savannah and Becoming Mrs. Lewis. She hosts a podcast and is the recipient of multiple awards. She lives in Mountain Brook, AL, and Bluffton, SC, with her husband.


“With stories, I can see with other eyes, imagine with other imaginations, feel with other hearts, as well as with my own.”
“George wants to tell her that it’s going to be ok, because it is. Even if everything turns out differently than she wants.“

Publisher Harper Muse

Published October 19, 2021

Narrated Fiona Hardingham

Review www.bluestockingreviews.com






24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All