top of page


Updated: May 7, 2023

By Jennifer Hillier

An Atmospheric Thriller



It is Vanessa Castro's first day as Deputy Chief of Police in Seaside Washington The day has only just begun when she is dispatched to oversee a potential murder investigation at the Wonderland amusement park. Wonderland and its visitors are the lifeblood of the small town of Seaside Not only has a homeless man been found dead next to the Wonderwheel, but a selfie of a teenage employee who had free-climbed the Wonderwheel had gone viral that morning. Now the teenage employee seems to be missing.

As Vanessa investigates the dead body and searches for the missing teenager. She soon realizes that several other blond-hair teenage boys are also gone, and the police have done nothing to find them. As rumors grow about Wonderland, Vanessa and her family, who just recently moved to the area, are caught up in a nightmare.


An amusement park, complete with a clown museum and House of Horrors, is an intriguing setting for this atmospheric thriller. Author Jennifer Hillier’s writing and misdirection are both clever and captivating.

Wonderland characters are numerous and colorful. Vanessa left Seattle after her husband’s recent death, and she, like all the other characters in the book, has a secret or two up her sleeve. We also have a sex-crazed female CEO, a creepy night janitor, a missing security guard, and a good-looking VP of Operations that is protective of his CEO but wants to get to know Vanessa better.

Hillier has written seven novels, and she just keeps getting better. Some other books she has written include Things We Do in the Dark, (2022), Little Secrets (2020), and Jar of Hearts (2018).

Wonderland was actually published as an ebook eight years ago. Now it’s being released as an audiobook and is delightfully narrated by Eunice Wong. Her voice and style were perfect for the tension and the multitude of characters in this story.

Thanks to Netgalley and Macmillian Audio for an advance reading copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Publisher Macmillian Audio

Published April 11, 2023

Narrated Eunice Wong

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page