top of page

Twenty Years Later

By Charlie Donlea

A Thought-provoking and Sophisticated Mystery Thriller



Avery Mason, the host of American Events, a popular news magazine show, knows which stories grab her audience's attention. Avery is chasing a hot story out of New York. The medical examiner’s office there has just identified the remains of a woman killed in the 9/11 World Trade Center attacks. It is the first identification of a 9/11 victim in years.

On Tuesday, September 11, 2001, Victoria Ford was in Manhattan to meet with her attorney to discuss a defense for Victoria in the murder of her married lover, Cameron Young, whose death in the Catskills had Victoria’s fingerprints and DNA all over it. While Victoria sat in her attorney’s office in the North Tower pondering her options, the first plane struck. It was Victoria’s remains which were recently identified.

Curious about Victoria’s role in the murder, Avery reinvestigates the murder of Cameron Young, a successful novelist who was found hanging from the balcony of his mansion. Soon, Avery finds herself neck deep in the details of a murder that rocked the Catskills twenty years earlier. As Avery investigates, she suspects that the twisted puzzle of Victoria’s life contains a much darker mystery, and Avery is determined to uncover it.


TWENTY YEARS LATER is a sophisticated and thought-provoking mystery. Author Charlie Donlea keeps you on your game trying to figure this one out. The story is so complicated, with secrets and surprises in every chapter, that it's fun. It will have you reading deep into the night.

Avery’s character is delightfully compelling and strong. Not only is she an investigative reporter with the story of a lifetime, but she has secrets all her own. Retired FBI agent Walt Jenkins, who worked on the Cameron Young case, plays a curious investigative role...but what is he really investigating?

Charlie Donlea is a USA Today bestselling author. He was born and raised in Chicago, where he continues to live with his wife and two young children. He is the author of The Girl Who Was Taken, Don't Believe It, The Woman in Darkness, The Suicide House and Twenty Years Later. I am thrill to claim that I have read and absolutely loved them all.

I listened to the audiobook with narration performed by Vivienne Leheny. The tone and pacing keeps listeners engaged.

Publisher Kensington Publishing

Published December 28, 2021

Narrated Vivienne Leheny

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page